July 2, 1943: “Are you still in N. Africa?”

My Darling,

I’m at home and ready to go to bed.  It’s 10 o’clock here but guess it is just 2 (? number crossed out) there in the morning.  I’m wondering where you have been moved to.  Are you still in N. Africa?  I got a letter from your mother yesterday.  She is going to work so guess I’ll wait until later on to visit her.  Pat got his notice for examination today.  He and wife have moved to Dubuque and he is working there but will be in Army or Navy soon again.  Sunday is the fourth.  Am not going anywhere.  No one celebrates much over here anymore.  War news sounds good yet.  Honey, I hope you’re not in actual fighting–I worry a lot and hope the Good Lord keeps you safe for me.  My darling I pray for you cuz I love you so much.

Your wife, Babe

(Hope you get mail O.K.)

Leave a Reply

