June 28, 1943: “I went swimming”

My dear Husband,

Honey, today I got two letters from you and Sam got one with one enclosed for mom.  You will never know how wonderful it was to hear from you again.  It takes three weeks for ordinary mail and 11 days for V mail, but I enjoy the ordinary letters an awful lot.  So sorry you haven’t heard from me as you’re writing.  You should be getting lots of mail soon, lover.  This afternoon I’m going out to Toots’ cabin and stay a couple days.  Her and Fran are over there.  We had a big storm last night.  I went swimming with Jenny Ruth (girl next door) yesterday and we sure got sunburned.  It must be wonderful to swim in Mediterranean sea.  Must seem like a dream to you.  I am feeling fine and Ching is much better.  Honey, I’ll save all the bonds I get until you come home.   However, I haven’t received the one from Fort Knox yet, probably will later.

I love you,

Babe

Leave a Reply

