Letter from Rex, Brodhead WI paper

Pvt. Rex Young In Sicily Campaign

The following letter was written by Pvt. Rex Young to his mother, Mrs. Kittie Young, Brodhead.  Co. C, 39th Engr’s Combat Reg’t, A.P.O. 464 c/o Postmaster, New York City, N.Y.

Aug. 20th

Dear Mom:

Well it has been just a week since I wrote my last letter.  As you know the campaign in Sicily is ended and we are having a few days of rest, we can use some rest too.  I know now what it means to be really tired and have to keep on going.

Have been washing some clothes, cleaning equipment, and repairing my army pack, as it got badly torn.  We have been highly praised by Gen. Patton, and our other commanding officers for our combat ability, and work in the invasion of Sicily, and many days that followed.  This praise naturally made us feel pretty good.  I’m glad we were able to do good here, but there is still a lot to be done.  I’ll never forget some of those days, there was no lack for thrills that’s sure.

This p.m. we are spending on the beach, and it is certainly a wonderful place.  There is a beautiful beach clubhouse that the Red Cross has taken over, and they furnish bathing suits, musical entertainment, and books to read.  There are many tables, and some of the boys are writing letters and others are playing games.

I bought two eggs at ten cents each and boiled them, certainly tasting good for a change.  Most of the natives ask $4.00 a dozen for eggs.  I’ve been eating grapes, almonds and figs and some pears too.  Figs are sure good right from the trees.  They are so sweet and juicy.

I’ve received two copies of the Register in the last week now.  Of course they are real old, but it’s all news to me and I sure enjoy reading it.  One of the copies was forwarded from Ft. Knox, and that was a long time coming.

We have been swimming in the Mediterranean several times.  If you don’t hear from me for a while don’t worry as I may not have an opportunity to write for a while.

Lots of love, Rex

Leave a Reply

