Sunday, Oct 10, 1943: A family letter

Dear Uncle Rex,   This will be sort of a family letter, I understand, so I have to put my two cents worth in.  I have spent a month out near Spokane, Washington visiting some cousins. September is very dry out there, and it didn’t rain at all while I was there.  Quite warm too, so it was a very enjoyable visit.  I saw quite a few points of interest even on an “A” gas stamp (1).  There were lots of things to see near there.  While I was there I joined the WAVES (2) but I came home before my birthday so I’m to be sworn in at Milwaukee, October 12th.  I’ll have from 10-20 days then before I get my call to training school in New York City.  You can imagine how excited I am, though maybe you can’t understand what there would be to get excited about.  Anyway, after boot training I am going to try to get training in some phase of aviation.  I guess I’ve written enough except that I wish you a safe journey anywhere you go and lots of luck.                 Love from your niece, Violet

1)Rationing stamps.  I think she is just commenting that she only used one gas stamp to see the area.  Mandatory gas rationing began on Dec. 1, 1942.  It was not an actual fuel shortage that caused the rationing but instead a rubber shortage, and in order to meet military needs the U.S. needed to minimize tire wear in the States.  LINK

2)The United States Naval Reserve (Women’s Reserve), better known under the acronym WAVES for Women Accepted for Volunteer Emergency Service, was the World War II women’s branch of the United States Naval Reserve.

%22youll_be_happy_too_and_feel_so_proud_serving_as_a_wave_in_the_navy-%22_-_nara_-_516239

Dear Rex,  I’ve just been playing “Peek” with Bruce and I guess he had enough for he told me to “Beat it!” One can sure have a lot of fun with him now.  He talks  a lot and is a real boy.  We don’t get to see him very often–about 2-3 times a year–so we can see quite a change in him. We are having a picnic at Recreation Park in Monroe today.  Hazel is here, but she has to go back tonight.  It is sure a fine day although it didn’t look very good for awhile this A.M.     I’ll let some of the others put in their two cents worth now.

With Love,  Your Sis, Lucell

Dear Rex,  We hope the time won’t be too long until all of you fellows will be eating with their families again.  We are taking a lot of pictures this afternoon and we will send you some of them.  Bruce is the chief amusement; if he isn’t funny enough, somebody gives him some encouragement.  We have a bulletin board covered with maps so that we can keep up with the news.  We listen to news and commentators during every meal and at night.  I hope you are getting out letters.                 Margaret

Dear Uncle Rex,   I don’t know of much to say, but it’ll be a few lines.  I hope you fellows will all be home soon.  We’ve been awfully busy with the corn harvest but will soon be done, I hope.  It’s been swell weather here lately but I suppose it will soon turn cold.  It is dry for this time of year.  Of course it don’t hurt much now except the pastures.  It will have to rain before we can do any fall planting, it’s so dry.  Well, I can’t think of anything else to write, so I’ll quit.  When I see you again I’ll ask you a lot of questions.  Love from Roger.

My darling, it’s been a big day and how I have missed you.  It just isn’t any fun anywhere without you.  Your mother is taking  bus back to Brodhead at 7:10 and my bus leaves here at 10 tonite.  We are sitting in the chocolate shop here in Monroe waiting for Violet.  She and I are going to stay here until bus time.  She is staying here tonite and going to Milwaukee tomorrow to get inducted in WAVES.  I bought some cheese to take home, Limburger and Swiss.  Remember, darling, how we would stock up B/4 going back?  I’m expecting to go to work in morning at button shop.  Hope I’m not too tired.  I should get home at 2 or 2:30 A.M.  I’ll be glad to get home, you know how it is, if you were there.  Honey, it’s hell without you, especially here.  Everything seems so strange.  I have gotten somewhat used to it at home, but here all I do is sit and brood about you.  Well my baby, I’ll close now and I’ll keep on writing real often and I hope to God I hear from you soon.  You’re all mine and I’m all yours, Babe

Dear Uncle Rex, I have been busy playing with Bruce today.  Bruce just bumped his head on the table.  It made a little mark on his nose, but he didn’t cry much.  I learned to milk this summer and now I am milking two cows every night.  Well, we have to go home now so will close.                           Your nephew, Lloyd

My dear dear boy, we all met in Recreation Park in Monroe today.  We were all disappointed that Hazel is going back so soon, but she thinks she must report for work tomorrow A.M.  I’m so sorry I didn’t write her specifically just how long I wanted her to stay.  She thought 2 or 3 days would be long enough, but it sure isn’t.  We have had some pictures taken and hope some of them will be good.  We are sure longing for you to come home and hope it won’t be so long before you can.  This has been an ideal Oct. day; although the gentle breeze was cooler than yesterday the sun shone real warm.  Well by by for this time.  Will be writing you a longer letter soon.

With heaps and heaps of love,  Mother

attachment-1-jpeg2

This is a photo dated Oct, 1943, of the picnic in Monroe.  Bruce is on the table.  Margaret sits across from Babe on the left, with Roger seated next to her.  Babe is wearing a hat, sitting in front on the right.  I believe Violet is behind Babe, standing, and Rex’s mother is next to her.  Lucell is seated behind Babe,  and Lloyd is leaning on the table behind her.

 

Leave a Reply

